Home      Administration
MSHSL Recognition Programs:    Hall of Fame    Spotlight on Scholarships    ExCEL Award    Triple "A" Awards    Challenge Cup        


ExCEL - Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership - is a unique recognition program designed exclusively for Minnesota high school juniors who are active in school activities, who show Leadership qualities, and who volunteer in their communities.

Every member school of the League is invited to nominate one girl and one boy for the ExCEL Award. Nominees must:
a. be a junior in high school
b. make satisfactory progress toward graduation
c. participate in a MSHSL fine arts and/or athletic activity
d. hold a leadership position(s) in their school
e. work voluntarily in their community.

The ExCEL nomination form is posted on this website and will be accepted through December 12, 2014. An independent panel of judges from schools throughout Minnesota will select ExCEL Award recipients in January. ExCEL winners will be recognized on KSTC-TV (Channel 45) during the broadcast of the 2015 winter tournaments.

This is the 19th year that the Minnesota State High School League has sponsored the ExCEL Award. We're counting on YOU to help us recognize student leaders in your school who are making a difference. Please take the time to complete the nomination form posted on this website. Award winners will be announced via the League website on February 2, 2015.

Please contact the Minnesota State High School League at 763-560-2262 if you have additional questions.

Please Note:

General Public: If you know a student that qualifies for this award, please contact the student's school administration.

School Personnel: To access the nomination form and program support materials, click on the "Administration" tab and enter your school's password.

Nomination Form (Word) / (PDF)
2015 Award Winners Announced

Thomas Bao, Tartan, Oakdale Nicholas Battis, Mound Westonka
Kyle Becker, Pierz Ethan Berube, Park, Cottage Grove
Tanner Bina, Ely Matthew Bjork, LeSueur-Henderson
Emma Crane, Elk River Samuel Ellefson, Hutchinson
Hunter Fick, Ashby Emily Friedrich, Brandon-Evansville
Amy Gustafson, Deer River Paige Hildebrandt, Waseca
Cassandra Hook, Tracy Area Maxwell Jacobson, Alexandria
Elizabeth Johnson, Spring Grove Meghan Kuemmel, Park, Cottage Grove
Jake Langlie, New Richland-H-E-G Alexis Lansink, Hutchinson
Lindsey Martens, Sartell Andrew Morgenstern, Eastview
Anna Phearman, Watertown-Mayer Ellen Purdy, St. Paul Como Park
Ryan Richelsen, Providence Academy Brandon Schmit, J-C-C
William Schroeder, Brandon-Evansville Anne Schwarz, New Ulm Cathedral
Harrison Speltz, Spring Grove Emma Stotts, Minneapolis Washburn
Dawn Swartz, Pillager Michael Thompson, Tri-County
Laura Trahms, J-W-P Madison Truscinski, Badger

Copyright 1994-2015 Minnesota State High School League
2100 Freeway Boulevard Brooklyn Center, MN 55430-1735
(763) 560-2262    FAX (763) 569-0499