Skip to main content


2022 Triple "A" Award Finalists

Posted: Friday, February 11, 2022 - 1:42 PM

Triple A logo

The following students have been selected as the 2022 Triple ‘A’ Award finalists.  They will be recognized at a banquet in March and during the Boys State Basketball Tournament.

Region 1A

Carson Ruen, Lanesboro

Rachel Nesseth, Kenyon-Wanamingo

Region 2A

Benjamin Walechka, St. Clair

Grace Moeller, Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial

Region 3A

Micah Schaap, SW Minnesota Christian

Brooklyn Conrad, Ortonville

Region 4A

Elijah Koopman, Heritage Christian Academy

Abigail Kuphal, New Life Academy

Region 5A

Makullen Kleist, Eden Valley-Watkins

Shelby Geislinger, Eden Valley-Watkins

Region 6A

Isaac Scherfenberg, Battle Lake

Caryn Marty, Chokio-Alberta

Region 7A

Chad Hart, Esko

Andrea Pocernich, Cromwell-Wright

Region 8A

Jonathan Krueger, East Grand Forks

Marin Roragen, Fertile-Beltrami




Region 1AA

Connor Ginskey, Owatonna

Maria Hanson, Rochester Century

Region 2AA

Nolan Prokosch, Hutchinson

Megan Friedrichs, Mankato East

Region 3AA

Leyton Simmering, Rosemount

Catalina Decker, Eagan

Region 4AA

Brenden Ravndal, St. Anthony Village

Fina Mooney, St. Anthony Village

Region 5AA

Andrew Stevenson, Fridley

Narindwa Semakula, Irondale

Region 6AA

Alec Olson, Wayzata

Elsa Bergman, Hopkins

Region 7AA

Aidan Fitzpatrick, Duluth East

Camille Wikstrom, Hermantown

Region 8AA

Kallen Hanzsek-Brill, St. Cloud Apollo

Kessa Mara, Willmar


The Academics, Arts, and Athletics Award, commonly known as the Triple 'A' Award, honors high school seniors throughout the state who have a 3.0 or higher-grade point average and who participate in League-sponsored athletic and fine arts activities.  

Nomination Criteria 

To be eligible for the Academics, Arts, and Athletics Award a student must:

  • be a high school senior at the time of nomination. Schools may nominate one senior boy and one senior girl for this award.
  • have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher at the time of nomination.
  • participate in at least one League-sponsored athletic program and one arts/activity program.
  • comply with the MSHSL's Student Code of Conduct 
  • complete the application form and submit it to the administrative region secretary by the deadline date specified by the region committee.

Selection Process

Triple ‘A’ Award recipients are selected through a multi-level process involving member schools of the League, the League’s administrative regions, and a special committee of educators, business leaders, and members from the fine arts and athletic communities.

Triple ‘A’ Recognition 

Two award finishers from each region (one boy and one girl) will be invited to a recognition banquet in March and League officials will announce the four statewide Triple ‘A’ Award winners at that time. All 32 finalists will also participate in an on-court ceremony during the Class AA championship game of the Boys Basketball State Tournament. The statewide award winners—a girl and a boy from Class A and Class AA schools—will also receive a four-year $1,000 scholarship.

Next Article

Three Class A productions receive ‘starred performance’ ratings