Skip to main content


League announces 2020 Triple 'A' Award recipients

Posted: Wednesday, June 17, 2020 - 9:02 AM

Four Minnesota high school students have been selected as the 2020 Triple ‘A’ Award state scholarship recipients.

Established in 1988, the award, popularly known as the Triple ‘A’ Award, recognizes high school seniors from across Minnesota for their achievements in the classroom, the arts/activities and athletics. To qualify for the award, students must have a 3.0 or better grade point average and participate in League-sponsored athletic and arts/activities program. League member schools are invited to nominate one boy and one girl for the award. Award recipients are selected through a multi-level process involving the League’s administrative regions and a committee of educational, athletic, and arts/activities leaders.

The 2020 Triple ‘A’ Award state scholarship recipients are Christopher Borash, Royalton; AnnaGrace Nelson, Cambridge-Isanti; Oliver Paleen, St. Paul Highland Park; and Kindra Peterson, Underwood. Each student will receive a $4,000 scholarship.

“We are proud to recognize and honor these well-rounded student achievers,” says Jody Redman, the League associate director that oversees the program. “They have demonstrated excellence, hard work, and commitment in academics, the arts/activities and athletics and are leaders in their schools and communities.”

Since its inception 1988, more than 15,000 students have represented their schools in the Triple ‘A’ Program. M Health Fairview and the Institute for Athletic Medicine sponsor the program, which is now in its 32nd year.

Here are the 2020 Academics, Arts, and Athletics Award winners and finalists:
Region 1A --- Carter O’Reilly, Pine Island; Kailee Malone, Stewartville
Region 2A --- Isaac Grev, Mountain Lake; Bergen Senf, Fairmont
Region 3A --- Patrick Green, Windom Area; Shelby Erickson, Windom Area
Region 4A --- Andrew Karpenko, Minnehaha Academy; Nalia Petersen, Heritage Christian Academy
Region 5A --- Christopher Borash, Royalton; Bailee Schiefelbein, Kimball
Region 6A --- Carter Grove, Osakis; Kindra Peterson, Underwood
Region 7A --- Jonah Giermann, Chisholm; Ava Hill, Mesabi East
Region 8A --- Nathaniel Thompson, East Grand Forks; Olivia Ellingson, Fertile-Beltrami
Region 1AA --- Mark Mosser, Lakeville South; Kaia Elstad, Owatonna
Region 2AA --- Adam Koller, Worthington; Katelyn Flatgard, Mankato East
Region 3AA --- John Deneen, South St. Paul; Ingrid Anderson, Bloomington Kennedy
Region 4AA --- Oliver Paleen, St. Paul Highland Park; Isabella DiGiorno, Roseville Area
Region 5AA --- Adam Johnson, Fridley; Iva Hammitt-Kess, Irondale
Region 6AA --- Ronan Brew, Benilde-St. Margaret’s; Evelyn Villalobos, Robbinsdale Cooper
Region 7AA --- Adam Boeckermann, Elk River; AnnaGrace Nelson, Cambridge-Isanti
Region 8AA --- Jacob Keller, Monticello; Amanda Bittmann, Alexandria Area

Next Article

2019 State Girls Cross Country Summary