Skip to main content


Rosemount's Ratzlaff Named Mr. Football 2020

Award Sponsored by MN Football Coaches Association, Minnesota Vikings

Posted: Monday, February 22, 2021 - 12:03 PM

Jake Ratzlaff, a strong safety/tight end from Rosemount High School, has been named Mr. Football 2020 by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA). The award was presented at the virtually-held Mr. Football Banquet on Sunday, Feb, 21.

First presented in 2004, the Mr. Football Award is an annual award recognizing Minnesota’s top high school football player. The Mr. Football Award is co-sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association and the Minnesota Vikings.

Jake Ratzlaff is the 17th player to receive the Mr. Football Award and the second from Rosemount High School (Zach Vraa, wide receiver, won the Mr. Football Award in 2009). His head coach was Jeff Erdmann.

Head Coach Jeff Erdmann’s comments about Jake Ratzlaff:

“As a high school football player, I have never seen one player impact a game in so many different ways. He could start for us at any position offensively or defensively. He could have been our starting QB, offensive tackle or even nose guard because of his athleticism, aggressiveness, and style of play.

"Jake played for us at the varsity level as a 9th grader. He then started for us at OLB as a sophomore. We moved him to Safety before his junior year to allow him to cover the field more and he had 126 tackles. People started running away from his side when he was a sophomore so we moved him in the middle of the field and he just flourished. We have never had a defensive player make it to the 100-tackle mark and he shattered it.

"He is the best blocking TE I have ever coached and has the speed to get deep and with incredible hands.

"Our staff has been fortunate to have been together for a long time with some pretty good team success and a previous Mr. Football winner. Jake Ratzlaff is the best football player we have ever worked with. Jake is a stand-up young man that will absolutely represent this award with dignity and class, if he is selected.”

Here are some highlights from Jake Ratzlaff’s outstanding 2020 season and his high school football career:

Honors and Awards in 2020:

· Associated Press Player of the Year

· Associated Press First Team All-State selection

· Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year

· Star Tribune All-Metro Football First-Team Defensive selection

· Pioneer Press East Metro Player of the Year

· KARE 11 All-Metro Defensive Team selection

2020 Statistics:


· 70 tackles

· 5.5 tackles for loss

· 3 sacks

· 2 fumble recoveries

· 3 pass interceptions


· 10 catches for 209 yards

· 3 touchdowns

Special Teams:

· 3 blocked punts

Career Statistics:


· 261.5 tackles

· 28.5 tackles for loss

· 10.5 sacks

· 2 forced fumbles

· 5 fumble recoveries

· 3 pass interceptions


· 33 catches for 714 yards

· 8 receiving touchdowns

· 2 for 2 passing with, one TD pass and a 2-point conversion

· 11 touchdowns

Special Teams:

· 3 blocked punts

· 2 blocked FG

· 1 block punt for a TD

The other nine finalists for the 2020 Mr. Football Award in alphabetical order were:

Name                           School                              Position        Sub-District                  Class

Shea Albrecht               Orono                                OT/DT           Suburban-Red               4A

Joe Alt                         Totino-Grace                      TE/OT            Metro-North                   6A

Cameron Anderson       Blue Earth Area                  WR/S            South Central-White       2A

Trey Feeney                 Moorhead                          QB                North Central-Red          5A

Nick Flaskamp              Minneapolis Southwest       RB/LB           Twin City-Gold               5A

Marcus Hansen             Waseca                              DE/G/K         South Central-Red          3A

Eli Mau                         Chanhassen                       LB/TE/P/K     Suburban-White             5A

Garrison Solliday          St. Thomas Academy         DL/DE           Suburban-Maroon          5A

Adam Tonsfeldt            Barnesville                         QB/SS           Midwest-White               2A

Congratulations to all of the 2020 Mr. Football finalists.

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award are:

2019 - Jalen Suggs, QB/DB, SMB Wolfpack

2018 - Jason Williamson, RB/FS, Owatonna

2017 - Antonio Montero, LB/RB/PK/P, Eden Prairie

2016 - Wade Sullivan, RB, Lakeville North

2015 - J.D. Spielman, RB/WR/DB, Eden Prairie

2014 - Robbie Grimsley, RB, Hutchinson

2013 - Jeffrey Jones, RB, Minneapolis Washburn

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, RB, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, QB, Mankato West

2010 - Peter Westerhaus, TE/LB, Holy Family Catholic

2009 - Zach Vraa, WR, Rosemount

2008 - Varmah Sonie, DB, Apple Valley

2007 - Michael Floyd, WR, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Blake Sorensen, LB, Eden Prairie

2005 - Matt Carufel, OL, Cretin-Derham Hall

2004 - Nick Mertens, QB, East Grand Forks

Congratulations to Jake Ratzlaff of Rosemount High School on his selection as the Mr. Football Award winner for 2020.

Next Article

Wrestling Rankings From The Guillotine