Skip to main content


John's Journal: 13 Inducted Into Bartelma Minnesota Wrestling Hall of Fame

2024 MWCA Award Recipients Honored

Posted: Monday, May 6, 2024 - 1:12 PM


2024 MWCA Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame inductees. Front (L-R): Ray Thorkildson, Ty Eustice, Jim Richardson, Luke Eustice, and Dean Salo. Back (L-R): Chuck Marks, Mike Thorn, Wes Haglund, Doug Salo, and Mike Hendrickson. Photo by Jeff Beshey.


This article originally appeared in The Guillotine, Minnesota's wrestling home...

Benson, Minn. – Thirteen new members were inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 4th, in Benson, Minn.

The new inductees honored were Luke Eustice, Ty Eustice, Wes Haglund, Mike Hendrickson, Chuck Marks, Jim Richardson, Dean Salo, Doug Salo, Ray Thorkildson, and Mike Thorn. Pioneer Inductees Ardell Knudsvig (who started the program in Ada, MN), Gary Brantl (who started the program in Plummer, MN), and Chuck Keogh (who started the program in Waubun, MN) were also honored. Those in attendance each gave a speech.

MWCA Coach of the Year honorees for 2024 were Class A – Matt Mauseth of Chatfield, Class AA – Kurt Becker and Bill McDonald of Watertown-Mayer, and Class AAA – Dan Engebretson of Mounds View.

The MWCA selected Matt Mauseth of Chatfield as the State Head Coach of the Year. Marty Morgan of Mounds View was selected as State Assistant Coach of the Year. Mauseth and Morgan, along with MWCA Mr. Minnesota Wrestler Alex Braun of Woodbury and Ms. Minnesota Wrestler Lanna Walter of Sauk Centre-Melrose, represent Minnesota as The National Wrestling Coaches Association’s State (NWCA) award winners, which qualifies them for further NWCA Scholastic Awards at the Regional and National levels.

The MWCA presented State Champion and Runner-up team awards based on the unofficial individual state tournament scoring to Class A—1st Kenyon-Wanamingo, 2nd Jackson County Central; Class AA—1st Simley, 2nd Becker; Class AAA—1st St. Michael-Albertville, 2nd Eden Prairie; Girls—1st Apple Valley, 2nd Bemidji. View the 2024 individual-based top-ten State team scores.

Craig Nasvik of White Bear Lake Area, Dennis Benz of Rock Ridge, Brian Bos of Pipestone Area, and Mark Madigan of Simley were recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award for their coaching longevity (30+ years).

Click here to go to The Guillotine website and read more:…


Next Article

Adapted Bowling State Tournament 2024: Advance Release