Skip to main content


MSHSL Trivia --- February 2023

Posted: Wednesday, February 8, 2023 - 2:01 PM

1. Who was Minnesota’s first high school boys diving champion?

The first recorded 1-meter diving champion was Virginia’s Jack Carlson in 1939. While the event was first held in 1924, results were not recorded. Carlson would win two more diving crowns.


2. Who was the Boys Hockey Class AA Herb Brooks Award winner in 2008?

Hill-Murray’s Joe Phillippi. He had a .977 save percentage and made 83 saves in leading the Pioneers to their third hockey championship.

3. What was added to an officials uniform prior to the 1989-90 school year?

League registered officials were provided two emblems to be worn on the left-pocket area. These identified individuals as registered officials. Emblems were not distributed to reciprocity officials.

4. Who were the two Girls Ice Hockey Advisory Committee members in 1997-98?

Tartan’s Barb Halbrehder and South St. Paul’s Dave Palmquist


5. When was the celebration for the 50th annual Wrestling State Tournament?

March 5-7, 1987

MSHSL Trivia

Next Article

Officials Spotlight:Emmett Keenan