Skip to main content


Student Advisory and Leadership Team initiated by MSHSL

Posted: Tuesday, February 21, 2023 - 2:45 PM


A Student Advisory and Leadership Team (SALT) has been created within the Minnesota State High School League. The primary goals of SALT are to include student voices in League programming decisions and to build students’ leadership skills. The Minnesota State High School League serves over 500 Member Schools and works directly with the Athletic Directors and others at those schools; however, a direct connection with the students in an advisory and leadership format was missing. After analyzing how other states include their students in these ways, the League has created SALT, a format that best fits with the students in Minnesota.  

This student team, which has been selected thanks to the help of the AD’s and staff of member schools, will provide input directly to League Staff and the MSHSL Board of Directors. They will communicate the needs and challenges that face today’s student participants as well as help identify best practices. Being a part of this Leadership Team gives the students selected the opportunity to develop leadership skills with other team members, and inspire thoughtful, student-led action that supports the purpose and desired outcomes of the Student Advisory and Leadership Team.  

SALT members will attend in-person and virtual meetings, assume and expand leadership roles and responsibilities in their school and community and assist with State Tournaments, promotional and educational materials, and leadership training opportunities. 

SALT members for 2022-2023 include:  

  • Aleksandr Barnes, Mound Westonka High School  
  • Augustin Burrows, DeLaSalle High School  
  • Elaine Cui, Wayzata High School  
  • Brianna Hanneken, Pine River-Backus High School  
  • Grace Keely, Visitation High School  
  • Jacob Mattson, Wayzata High School  
  • Ava Roots, Stillwater Area High School  
  • Ben Sanderson, Edina High School  
  • Jaedynn Tjon, Owatonna High School  
  • Ella Yates, Warroad High School  
  • Caleb Zejdlik , East Grand Forks High School 

League Associate Directors Charlie Campbell and Lisa Quednow are working with and supporting the SALT team.  

Applications for the 2023-2024 SALT Team will be available in Spring 2023.  

Next Article

Ada-Borup graduate gets chance to photograph Super Bowl