Skip to main content


2020 Boys Soccer Section Final Recaps

Posted: Tuesday, October 27, 2020 - 6:30 PM

Section Boys Soccer Header

2020 Section Recap --- Boys Soccer Section Championships

In the fall of 2020, the Minnesota State High School League’s Boys Soccer season was abbreviated because of safety protocols implemented to minimize the spread of the COVID-19 virus. The season culminated at the section level where 16 team champions were crowned. Here is a look at what happened in each of those section meets:

Class A

Section 1 --- Austin captured the section crown for the fourth consecutive season with a 2-1 victory over Dover-Eyota in the section championship game at St. Charles. After 100 minutes of regulation and overtime were tied at 1-all, the Packers won the game-deciding shootout, 4-2. Senior midfielder Andreas Garcia opened the scoring for Austin in the 43rd minutes and then Dover-Eyota senior forward McKray Tuma notched the equalizer in the 70th minute on a penalty kick.

Section 2 --- Bloomington Kennedy won a section championship for the first time since 1994 with a 1-0 double overtime victory over Worthington in the section final at Trojan Field in Worthington. Senior midfielder Jesus Ciriaco Mundo scored the game’s lone goal with less than three minutes remaining in the second overtime on a low shot following a crossing pass from the right. In 1994, Bloomington Kennedy was the state runner-up in the single-class format.

Section 3 --- Holy Angels, the Class A champion in 2019, erupted for three goals in the second half en route to a 4-1 victory over Richfield in the championship game. Carter Hermanson scored a goal in each half for the Stars and Aidan Smith had a goal and two assists.

Section 4 --- Mahtomedi scored a goal late in the first half and another early in the second half for a 2-1 victory over Hill-Murray in the section championship game at the St. Croix Rec Center. Junior midfielder Kyle Schmidt scored in the 42nd minute after beating two defenders to give the Zephyrs a lead they wouldn’t surrender. In the closing minutes of the first half, senior midfielder Nolan Pratumwon tied the score on a penalty kick after Schmidt was fouled in the penalty area. During the Metro East Conference season, Hill-Murray had recorded a 1-0 victory on Sept. 24.

Section 5 --- Breck used four first-half goals to power past rival, Blake, for a 4-0 victory in the section final at home in Golden Valley. Junior forward Callum Bristow, junior forward Ralph Smits, senior forward Spencer Chapman and senior forward Walsh Kern all tallied goals for the Mustangs, which won a section title for the first time since 2015. Breck finished 13-0-1.

Section 6 --- Junior midfielder Andy Dewitt scored three goals to power Orono to a 4-0 victory over Waconia in the championship game at Orono. It was Orono’s fourth section crown since 2015. Senior goalkeeper Luke Razidlo made 14 saves for Waconia.

Section 7 --- Senior midfielder Keegan Chastey and junior midfielder Skyler Fossum scored first half goals to spur Duluth Denfeld to a 2-1 victory over host Princeton in the section championship game. It is Duluth Denfeld’s third section crown since 2016 and fourth overall.  

Section 8 --- St. Cloud Tech scored three goals in a four-minute span late in the first half to power its way to a 3-0 victory over Pelican Rapids in the championship game at Alexandria High School.  Ahmedrabbi Ismail scored two goals sandwiched around one from Ethan Miller to give the Tigers a section crown for the third consecutive season.

Class AA

Section 1 --- All of the scoring came in the first half of Northfield’s 2-1 victory over Rochester Century in the championship game at the Dundas Dome. Senior forwards Pascal Cogan and Griffin Regnier scored goals seven minutes apart late in the first half to erase what had been a one-goal deficit. It was the second victory for the Raiders over Rochester Century this season It is Northfield’s first section crown since finishing as the Class AA runner-up in 2016.

Section 2 --- Edina, the big-school champion in 2019, completed a string of three shutouts in the postseason with a 3-0 victory over Eden Prairie in the section championship game at the Braemar Dome in Edina. Senior midfielder Henry Rose, senior defender Matt Mason and junior forward Sammy Presthus each scored goals for the Hornets, who peppered Eden Prairie with 20 shots. It was Edina’s third victory over Eden Prairie during the 2020 season.

Section 3 --- Lakeville North won a section championship for the third time in the past four seasons with a 2-0 victory over Cretin-Derham Hall in the title game at the Dundas Dome. The Panthers also didn’t allow a goal during the postseason. Senior midfielder Johnathan Bayer scored in the 11th minute and senior forward Elijah Sedlacek added another in the 33rd to spark the Panthers in completing an unbeaten season at 12-0-2.

Section 4 --- Stillwater, the Class AA champion in 2018, added another section championship to its rich tradition of success following a 1-0 victory over Park, Cottage Grove at Stillwater High School. Junior forward Riley Buxell scored the game’s only goal in the 37th minute on a low shot to the right side. Park senior goalkeeper Max Neitz made 11 saves, including some acrobatic stops.

Section 5 --- Mounds View erupted for four second-half goals to break open what had been a tight match en route to a 5-1 victory over Champlin Park in the championship game at Mounds View. The Mustangs’ four-goal outburst came in a 20-minute span in the second half. Benjamin Franz and Joseph Swallen had a goal and an assist each during the surge. It is Mounds View’s first section crown since 2017.

Section 6 --- Wayzata won a section championship for the fourth time in the past five seasons following a 3-2 victory over visiting Minneapolis Washburn in the title game. In the 50th minute, sophomore forward Joe Highfield snapped a 2-all deadlock with the only goal of the second half on a rebound to the upper right corner. Senior forward Brayan Fuentes had both goals for Minneapolis Washburn.   

Section 7 --- Centennial won the Section 7AA crown for the third consecutive season with a 3-0 victory over Duluth East at Ordean Stadium in Duluth. Sophomore forward Cal Babish and senior forward Garrett Miers scored first-half goals to spur the Cougars, and senior forward Will Miers added another in the second half. Junior goalkeeper Isaac Verke preserved the shutout with seven saves.

Section 8 --- Maple Grove notched its third section championship in the past four seasons following a 2-0 victory over Moorhead in the title game. Senior midfielder Chidera Anyamele and junior midfielder Damon Humphrey scored second-half goals to propel the Crimson. Sophomore goalkeeper Jacob Hendrickson made 13 saves to record the shutout.


Next Article

2020 Girls Soccer Section Final Recaps