Skip to main content


2023 Boys and Girls Lacrosse State Tournament Advance Release

Posted: Monday, June 12, 2023 - 10:49 AM


Sixteen lacrosse teams take to the fields at White Bear Lake Area High School and Stillwater Area High School on June 13, 15 and 17 in a quest for championships during the Minnesota State High School League’s Boys and Girls Lacrosse State Tournament.

The League has hosted the tournament since 2007. Before that, the Northcentral Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association held the girls tournament and the Minnesota Boys Scholastic Lacrosse Association hosted the boys tournament.

Here is a look at this season’s state tournament:

Tuesday’s Girls Quarterfinal Matchups, all held at White Bear Lake Area High School

  • East Ridge (12-4) vs. No. 3 Stillwater Area (13-3), 11 a.m.
  • Champlin Park (15-2) vs. No. 2 Edina (14-2), 1 p.m.
  • No. 5 Benilde-St. Margaret’s (14-2) vs. No. 4 Chanhassen (13-3), 3 p.m.
  • Elk River/Zimmerman (13-3) vs. No. 1 Lakeville South (16-0), 5 p.m.


East Ridge is making its debut tournament appearance. The Raptors lost to Stillwater Area 14-3 in late April but come into the tournament on an eight-game winning streak. Stillwater Area is looking to improve on last year’s consolation showing. Champlin Park returns to the tournament for the first time since 2015. Edina is another first-time entrant. Senior midfielder Nicola Santoni scored her 100th career goal for the Hornets in early May. Benilde-St. Margaret’s returns for the third time in as many seasons. The Red Knights placed third in 2022. Chanhassen is on an 8-0 streak since May 15 and is hoping to improve on last year’s runner-up showing. Elk River/Zimmerman returns for its second consecutive appearance. The Elks fell in the consolation final last year. Lakeville South returns to defend its 2022 title. The Cougars are 16-0 and allowed only four goals in the Section 8 tournament.

Tuesday’s Boys Quarterfinal Matchups, all held at Stillwater Area High School

  • Chisago Lakes (15-1) vs. No. 3 Shakopee (13-3), 11 a.m.
  • Cretin-Derham Hall (10-6) vs. No. 2 Lakeville North (14-2), 1 p.m.
  • No. 5 Mahtomedi (12-4) vs. No. 4 Prior Lake (12-4), 3 p.m.
  • Moorhead (15-1) vs. No. 1 Benilde-St. Margaret’s (16-0), 5 p.m.


Chisago Lakes returns to the tournament after a one-year hiatus. Shakopee is making its first tournament appearance. Cretin-Derham Hall is another first-time entrant. Lakeville North is making its eighth state tournament trip. The Panthers’ last appearance was in 2021. Mahtomedi returns for a sixth tournament appearance, but first since 2019. The Zephyrs defeated Stillwater Area 11-7 in the Section 4 championship game. Prior Lake hopes to improve on last year’s runner-up showing. The Lakers won previous championships in 2016, 2018 and 2019. Moorhead is making its third consecutive state tournament trip. The Spuds fell in the consolation semifinals in 2022. Benilde-St. Margaret’s returns as the two-time defending champion. In a rematch of last year’s championship game, the Red Knights defeated Prior Lake 15-9 on April 27.

Brackets, ticket links and streaming information can be found on the respective boys and girls lacrosse activity pages.



Next Article

2023 Baseball State Tournament Advance