Skip to main content


2023 Boys Golf State Tournament Day 2 Recap: New Life Academy's Witherow successfully defends Class A title

Posted: Wednesday, June 14, 2023 - 8:21 PM


Edina (Class AAA) was the only team that successfully defended its 2022 title at the 2023 Boys Golf State Tournament. Lakeview (Class A) and Totino-Grace (Class AA) both won their first championships.

Cale Witherow, a senior from New Life Academy of Woodbury, was the only individual to repeat this season. He won his second Class A crown. Sophomore Carter White of Staples-Motley won in Class AA and junior Jake Birdwell of Spring Lake captured top honors in Class AAA.

Class A

Lakeview earned its first team championship, finishing with a score of 636. Sophomore Carson Boe led the Lakers with a final score of 143 and tied for third place overall. Walker-Hackensack-Akeley placed second with 643 strokes and the two-time defending champions from Fertile-Beltrami were third at 651.

Senior Cole Witherow of New Life Academy of Woodbury successfully defended his Class A individual crown with a score of 139. That was two strokes better than senior Jake Fishbaugher of Fillmore Central, who finished at 141. Martin County West junior Hunter Schmidt and Lakeview’s Boe tied for third-place honors at 143.

Class AA

Totino-Grace earned its first championship with a score of 598. Junior Peyton Savageau led the charge for the Eagles, finishing in a three-way tie for second place. Holy Family Catholic was the runner-up with a score of 602 and Cloquet placed third at 618.

Carter White, a sophomore from Staples-Motley, took top honors in the individual event with 144 strokes. There was a three-way tie for second place between Totino-Grace’s Savageau, Roseau senior Max Wilson and Cloquet senior Karson Patten. All three finished with a score of 147.

Class AAA

The Edina Hornets claimed their second consecutive title and seventh overall in the team tournament with a score of 584. In addition to last year, they also won in 1954, 1970, 1987, 2014 and 2019. Edina West also claimed three championships in 1973, 1977 and 1978. Sophomore Torger Ohe was the top golfer for Edina; he placed third overall with a score of 140.

Maple Grove and Eastview rounded out the Top 3 team spots. The Crimson posted a final score of 603 and the Lightning came in at 610.

Jake Birdwell, a junior from Spring Lake Park, emerged as the individual champion. He finished with a score of 136. Cretin-Derham Hall sophomore Joe Honsa placed second at 138.

Complete results can be viewed here:

Next Article

2023 Baseball State Tournament: Day 2 Recap