Skip to main content


2023 Boys Lacrosse State Tournament Day 3 Recap: Lakeville North wins first championship with OT victory over Prior Lake

Posted: Saturday, June 17, 2023 - 8:16 PM


Lakeville North, the No. 2 seed, needed overtime to defeat No. 4 Prior Lake in the title game. Senior Nathan Long secured the 11-10 victory for the Panthers with his second goal of the game. This is the first championship for Lakeville North.

Three additional players scored two goals apiece for Lakeville North: senior Austn Winship, junior Quin Power and sophomore Blake Piscitiello. Sophomore Carson Piscitiello added two assists for the Panthers.

Junior Jack Tocko tallied three goals for Prior Lake and senior Benjamin Mickett finished the game with two goals and two assists.

These teams also met on May 9 this year, with Lakeville North winning 19-12.

Benilde-St. Margaret’s, the No. 1 seed, defeated No. 3 Shakopee 10-8 in the third-place game. Senior Carsen Brandt had two goals and two assists for the Red Knights. Senior Robby Hoyt added two goals. Sophomore Zach Docteur and senior Linus Toward tallied two goals apiece for Shakopee.

Moorhead dismissed Chisago Lakes 12-6 in the consolation final. Senior Caleb Alderson scored three goals for the Spuds. Senior Jeff Ulness, junior Jace Blythe and sophomore Carter Midthune added two goals apiece for Moorhead. Senior Maddox Olson was the top scorer for Chisago Lakes; he finished the game with three goals.

The complete bracket can be viewed here: 2023 Boys Lacrosse Bracket

Next Article

2023 Boys Lacrosse State All-Tournament Teams