Skip to main content


2023 Track and Field State Class AA Day 2

Posted: Saturday, June 10, 2023 - 2:17 PM


The top three teams in the Class AA Boys Track and Field State Championship finished within two and a half points of each other. Waseca scored 39 points to claim the championship; their score topped Worthington's 38 and Stewartville’s 36.5.  

In the girls competition, Monticello scored 64 points to earn the championship while Rocori scored 62 and Mankato East had 57.5.  

Highlights from the meet held at St. Michael-Albertville High School Include:  


  • The Marshall 4X800-meter relay team of Miracle Tucker, Allyson Sample, Anna Kuecker, and Taleigha Bigler set a class record at 9:27.37 in defeating last year’s champion Alexandria who came in second. 
  • Ashley Fisher, a junior from Academy of Holy Angels, won the 100-meter dash with a time of 12.07. Fisher also won this event in 2022. Fisher and second-place finisher Emelia Skistad of Monticello both topped the class record set by Rockford’s Cassia Cady in 2022. Skistad won the 200-meter dash with a time of 25.40 
  • Monticello repeated as the champion in the 4x200-meter relay. They topped their own class record with a time of 1:41:32.  Sasha Steinbach, Kacie Lilledahl, Kaela Skistad, and Emelia Skistad made up Monticello’s winning team. 
  • Jordan's Kendra Krueger won the 1600-meter run with a time of 4:53.90. She topped Tuesday’s winner of the 3200-meter race, Isabelle Schmitz of Hutchinson who finished with a time of 4:56:52. In third place was Jaelyn Miller of Alexandria. All three topped the class record previously held by Aleah Miller of Alexandria. 


  • Waseca’s 4X100 and 4X200 meter relays each finished first. Both relay teams were comprised of Christina Rodriguez, Kyle Ahlschlager, Kaeden Johnson and Damarius Russell. Ahlschlager also earned team points with a seventh-place finish in the long jump and a fourteenth-place finish in the 100-meter dash. Johnson finished twelfth in the 100-meter dash. Russell took second in the long jump and twelfth in the 100-meter dash.  
  • The 4x800-meter relay championship went to Mankato East. The team of  Evan MacLean, Audi Thom, Sam Thom, and Nicholas Brauer with a finishing time of 7:57.97. Annandale finished second and Big Lake took third.  
  • Mora’s Tayven Peterson won both the 110-meter and 300-meter hurdle titles. His 100-meter time of 14.67 topped Corbin Hanson from St Peter, last year’s champion and class record holder by .01. Hanson’s class record of 14.97 set in 2022 was topped by Peterson, Hanson and Jonah McCormick of Mahtomedi who placed third in today’s race. Peterson’s time in the 300-meter hurdles was 38.22. 
  • Cameron Stocke won titles in both the 1600-meter run and the 800-meter run. Stocke also won the 1600-meter run title in 2022. His 1600-meter 2023 time of 4:11:25 was just slightly better than his 4:11:53 in 2022. In the 800-meter run, Kaleb Sharp of Jordan, last year’s champion finished second .05 behind Stocke.  


  • Adaylia Borgmeier, an eighth grader from Mankato East placed first in three races. She broke her own class record set last year in the girls 100-meter race. Borgemeier’s time this year was 19.47. Borgmeier also won the 800-meter race with a time of 2:25.79 amd the 200-meter race with a time of 33.47. 
  • Fairmont sophomore Nelson Remington also won three races in today’s meet. His 100-meter race time was 17.51, his 200-meter race time was 31.69, and his 800-meter race time was 2:10.78. 


Next Article

John’s Journal: Two Sports, Two (Or Three) State Tournaments