Skip to main content


2023 Volleyball Advance Release

Posted: Tuesday, November 7, 2023 - 1:09 PM

2023 Volleyball NEWS Logo

Volleyball teams from throughout Minnesota will converge on the Xcel Energy Center in downtown St. Paul for the Minnesota State High School League’s annual Volleyball State Tournament. Champions will be crowned in four enrollment classes. Wayzata (Class AAAA) and Marshall (Class AAA) are looking to successfully their championships. Here is a look at the tournament:

Quarterfinal matchups

Wednesday, Nov. 8

Class AAAA

  • No. 1 Wayzata (31-0) vs. Edina (12-17), 1 p.m.
  • No. 4 Eagam (22-8) vs. No. 5 Anoka (25-3), 1 p.m.
  • No. 2 New Prague (25-5) vs. Minnetonka (16-14), 3 p.m.
  • No. 3 Rogers (28-3) vs. Stillwater (19-9), 3 p.m.

Class AAA

  • No. 1 Marshall (27-5) vs. DeLaSalle (15-15), 5 p.m.
  • No. 4 Detroit Lakes (25-7) vs. No. 5 Grand Rapids (22-9), 5 p.m.
  • No. 2 Delano (28-2) vs. Mahtomedi (17-13), 7 p.m.
  • No. 3 Byron (23-4) vs. Monticello (19-11), 7 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 9

Class AA

  • No. 1 Southwest Christian (26-5) vs. Wadena-Deer Creek (22-9), 1 p.m.
  • No. 4 Rush City (28-2) vs. No. 5 Annandale (22-8), 1 p.m.
  • No. 2 Pequot Lakes (27-5) vs. Redwood Valley (30-2), 3 p.m.
  • No. 3 Caledonia (27-5) vs. Concordia Academy (20-10), 3 p.m.

Class A

  • No. 1 Russell-Tyler-Ruthton (27-6) vs. Pine River-Backus (22-9), 5 p.m.
  • No. 4 New Life Academy (20-10) vs. No. 5 West Central Area (23-9), 5 p.m.
  • No. 2 Mayer Lutheran (26-6) vs. Ely (26-5), 7 p.m.
  • No. 3 Mabel-Canton (35-1) vs. Badger/Greenbush-Middle River (24-8), 7 p.m.


Class A

  • Russell-Tyler-Ruthton, the Section 3A champion is the top seed in the Class A field. The Knights defeated reigning Class A champion Minneota in the Section 3A championship. Pine River-Backus returns for a second consecutive season. The Tigers avenged a regular-season loss to Nevis with a victory in the Section 5A championship. New Life Academy also returns and is at the Xcel Energy Center for the fourth time overall. West Central Area hasn’t lost a game in the past month, a span of six victories. In the lower bracket, it is a rematch of a 2022 quarterfinal between Mayer Lutheran and Ely. Mayer Lutheran was also the No. 2 seed in 2022 en route to a runner-up finish to Minneota. Ely placed sixth in the tournament. Mabel-Canton returns as the No. 3 seed. A year ago, the Cougars finished in that spot. Mabel-Canton’s lone loss was to Minneota. Badger/Greenbush-Middle River also makes a return trip following a fifth-place finish in 2022.    

Class AA

  • In two other previous state tournament trips, Southwest Christian was the Class A runner-up in 2012 and champion the following season. Wadena-Deer Creek, the Class AA champion in 2010, is making a state tournament trip for the eighth time. The lower bracket quarterfinal between Rush City and Annandale is a rematch of the first round in 2022. Rush City blazed its way to the Section 7AA crown without losing a game. Annandale placed third in 2022. Pequot Lakes was the top seed in 2022 and finished as the runner-up to Cannon Falls. The Patriots erased two losses to Albany during the regular season with a victory in the Section 6AA final. Redwood Valley is on a roll into the state tournament with six consecutive victories since a loss to Class AAA’s Marshal a month ago. Caledonia is 11-3 over its past 14 matches in advancing to the state tournament for the first time since finishing as the Class A runner-up in 2016. Junior setter Grace Tverberg sets the tone for Concordia Academy.

Class AAA

  • Marshall is the two-time defending Class AAA champion and is favored to three-peat. The Tigers’ five losses this season are to Class AAAA schools. DeLaSalle is making its second consecutive state tournament trip. Detroit Lakes also returns for the second consecutive year. The Lakers won the consolation final in 2022. Grand Rapids lost to eventual champion Marshall in the semifinals last year before a fourth-place finish. The Thunderhawks lost to Cloquet near the end of the season but reversed that in the Section 7AAA final. Delano received the No. 2 seed with good reason. The Tigers’ two losses are to Wayzata and New Prague, entrants in the big-school field. Mahtomedi won the Section 4AAA crown with a strong late-season surge. The Zephyrs placed sixth in 2022. Byron powered its way to the Section 1AAA championship to earn a state tournament berth for the first time since 2009. Monticello, the Section 5AAA champion, is making its third consecutive state tournament trip.   

Class AAAA

  • Wayzata is the top seed and seeking its fourth consecutive big-school championship. Twins Stella and Olivia Swenson are University of Minnesota recruits. Edina is seeking the 202nd state championship in school history. Last week, the Edina girls soccer team won No. 201. The Hornets are in the state tournament for the second time since 2018 and second overall. Eagan has a familiar name on the sidelines. McKenna Melville is the Wildcats’ rookie head coach. She had a standout prep career with Eagan. Anoka has qualified for the first time since 2012. The Tornadoes did not lose a game during the Section 7AAAA tournament. New Prague is led by senior right-side hitter Avery Klein. The Trojans were the Class AAA runner-up in 2001. Minnetonka, the Class AA champion in 1976, is making its third state tournament appearance. Junior outside hitter Anya Schmidt powers Rogers with 430 kills and a .392 hitting percentage. Also has more than 100 service aces. Stillwater won the Section 4AAAA title and is making its second consecutive state tournament appearance.

Next Article

Remembering ROCORI superfan Bill Steil