Skip to main content


2024 Boys Lacrosse State Tournament: Benilde-St. Margaret's captures sixth championship

Posted: Saturday, June 15, 2024 - 7:40 PM

2024 Lacrosse NEWS Logo

The defending champions from Lakeville North fell to top-seeded Benilde-St. Margaret’s in the title game of this year’s Boys Lacrosse State Tournament. The Red Knights won 18-10 behind six goals from senior Gus Bell. Seniors Sky Rold and Dylan Parker added five and three goals, respectively. 

Twin brothers, juniors Carson and Blake Piscitiello, paced No. 3 Lakeville North with three goals apiece. Blake also had a team-high two assists for the Panthers. 

This was Benilde-St. Margaret’s sixth championship. In addition to this year, the Red Knights also won in 2007, 2010, 2011, 2021 and 2022. They placed third in 2023.

These teams also met on May 2 this year, with Benilde-St. Margaret’s winning 9-8 in overtime. 

Eden Prairie, the No. 5 seed, defeated No. 2 Stillwater Area 12-9 in the third-place game. Senior Daniel Burke had five goals and one assist for the Eagles. Sophomore Oscar Berggren added three goals. Senior Brock Lynskey and junior Isaac Johnston tallied two goals apiece for Stillwater Area. 

No. 4 Eagan dismissed unseeded Minnetonka 21-11 in the consolation final. Senior Samuel Simon scored eight goals and added two assists for the Wildcats. Senior William McLoone struck for an additional six goals. Junior Ethan Robinson was the top scorer for Minnetonka; he finished the game with five goals and one assist.

Simon’s eight goals ties the tournament record for most goals scored in a single game. Nicky Leiverman of Eden Prairie was the first to accomplish the feat in 2016. Isaac Peifer of Eagan tied the record in 2018. 



Next Article

2024 Girls Lacrosse State Tournament: Lakeville South completes perfect season