Skip to main content


2024 Lacrosse State Tournament Advance Release

Posted: Monday, June 10, 2024 - 8:28 AM

2024 Lacrosse NEWS Logo

Sixteen lacrosse teams take to the fields at Chaska High School and Eden Prairie High School on June 11, 13 and 15 in a quest for championships during the Minnesota State High School League’s Boys and Girls Lacrosse State Tournament.

The League has hosted the tournament since 2007. Before that, the Northcentral Schoolgirls Lacrosse Association held the girls tournament and the Minnesota Boys Scholastic Lacrosse Association hosted the boys tournament. 

Here is a look at this season’s state tournament:

Tuesday’s Girls Quarterfinal Matchups, all held at Chaska High School

  • Elk River/Zimmerman (13-3) vs. No. 3 Benilde-St. Margaret’s (14-1-1), 11 a.m.
  • Andover (8-9) vs. No. 2 Prior Lake (15-1), 1 p.m.
  • No. 5 Minnetonka (14-2) vs. No. 4 Stillwater Area (12-3), 3 p.m.
  • Cretin-Derham Hall (11-5) vs. No. 1 Lakeville South (16-0), 5 p.m.


Elk River/Zimmerman is making its third consecutive appearance and is looking to improve on last year’s consolation showing. The defending champions from Benilde-St. Margaret’s return for a fourth consecutive year. Andover returns to the tournament after a one-year hiatus. The Prior Lake Lakers made their last appearance in 2021 and are in the hunt for their third championship. Minnetonka is a first-time entrant. Stillwater Area is making its third consecutive appearance and 12th overall. The Ponies, who finished fourth in 2023, have never won a state title. Cretin-Derham Hall returns for its fourth appearance but first since 2019. Lakeville South is hoping to improve on last year’s third-place showing. The Cougars are 16-0 for a second consecutive season and allowed only eight goals in the Section 1 tournament.

Tuesday’s Boys Quarterfinal Matchups, all held at Eden Prairie High School

  • Moorhead (13-3) vs. No. 3 Lakeville North (12-4), 11 a.m.
  • Minnetonka (10-6) vs. No. 2 Stillwater Area (14-2), 1 p.m.
  • No. 5 Eden Prairie (11-5) vs. No. 4 Eagan (13-3), 3 p.m.
  • Centennial (10-7) vs. No. 1 Benilde-St. Margaret’s (15-1), 5 p.m.


The Moorhead Spuds, who claimed consolation honors last year, return for a fourth consecutive appearance. The defending champions from Lakeville North are making their second consecutive appearance and ninth overall. Minnetonka returns to tournament action for the first time since 2018. The Skippers fell to Stillwater Area 17-5 in mid-April of this season. Stillwater Area is making its third state tournament trip. The Ponies’ last appearance was in 2022. Eden Prairie returns for an 11th tournament appearance, but first since 2019. Eagan returns for its fifth tournament appearance but first since 2018. The Wildcats won one previous title in 2017. Centennial is making its first appearance since 2022. The Cougars lost to Benilde-St. Margaret’s 23-0 in April of this season. Benilde-St. Margaret’s, which is making its third consecutive appearance, won previous championships in 2007, 2010, 2011, 2021 and 2022. The Red Knights placed third in 2023.

Brackets, ticket links and streaming information can be found on the respective boys and girls lacrosse activity pages.



Next Article

2024 Baseball State Tournament Advance Release