Skip to main content


Adapted Softball State Tournament 2024: Advance Release

Posted: Wednesday, May 15, 2024 - 10:28 AM

2024 Adapted Softball NEWS Logo

Sixteen teams will take over Chanhassen High School this weekend for the Minnesota State High School League’s Adapted Softball State Tournament. Champions will be crowned in two divisions. Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville (CI) and Dakota United (PI) are both looking for their third consecutive championships.

Quarterfinal matchups

Friday, May 17

CI Division

  • No. 1N Osseo (8-0) vs. No. 4S South Washington County (5-3), 5 p.m.
  • No. 2S Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville (6-1) vs. No. 3N South Suburban (3-5), 6:30 p.m.
  • No. 2N St. Cloud Area (7-1) vs. No. 3S New Prague (4-4), 8 p.m.
  • No. 1S Dakota United (7-1) vs. No. 4N Chaska/Chanhassen/Prior Lake/Shakopee (4-4), 8 p.m.

PI Division

  • No. 1 Dakota United (7-0) vs. No. 8 Anoka-Hennepin (0-8), 5 p.m.
  • No. 4 St. Paul Humboldt (4-3) vs. No. 5 Minneapolis South (3-4), 5 p.m.
  • No. 2 Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka (6-1) vs. No. 7 South Suburban (1-6), 6:30 p.m.
  • No. 3 Rochester (4-3) vs. No. 6 Osseo (3-4), 6:30 p.m.

CI Highlights

  • Osseo is the top seed coming out of the North section. The Orioles finished in sixth place in 2023 and are looking for their first title since 2000. South Washington County fell in the consolation semifinals last year. Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville returns as the two-time defending champion. The Blazing Cats defeated South Suburban 18-9 during the regular season. The South Suburban Jets did not qualify for the 2023 tournament. St. Cloud Area, which placed fourth last year, is in the hunt for its third title. The Crush last won in 2017. The New Prague Trojans finished in third place last season. The top seed in the South section, Dakota United, is looking to improve on last year’s runner-up showing. Chaska/Chanhassen/Prior Lake/Shakopee went home with consolation honors in 2023. The Hawks defeated the Southern Stars 16-7 this season.

PI Highlights

  • Top-seeded Dakota United is looking for its third consecutive title. The Hawks defeated the Anoka-Hennepin Mustangs 16-1 during the regular season. Anoka-Hennepin placed third in 2023 and is looking for its first title since 2015. St. Paul Humboldt lost in the consolation semifinals last year. The Hawks posted a 4-3 victory over Minneapolis South in mid-April. The Tigers of Minneapolis South placed sixth in 2023. Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka and South Suburban met during the regular season, with the Robins winning 22-6. South Suburban did not qualify for the 2023 tournament and Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka placed second. Rochester, which placed fourth last year, is still in the hunt for its first championship. The Raiders lost to Osseo 12-1 in this year’s season-opener. Osseo claimed the consolation crown in 2023.

For additional information on this year’s tournament, please visit the respective activity pages: or 

Next Article

John's Journal: No Track, No Problem For Fastest Female In Minnesota