Skip to main content


Adapted Softball State Tournament 2024: Day 2 Recap

Posted: Saturday, May 18, 2024 - 7:25 PM

2024 Adapted Softball NEWS Logo

It was a great tournament for the Dakota United Hawks as they swept the titles in both divisions. The CI team finished with a record of 10-1 and the PI squad came in with a perfect record of 10-0. Both teams also improved on their 2023 runner-up showings.

CI Division

Championship Game

Dakota United 5, Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville 4

Dakota United, which placed second in 2023, broke through against the three-time defending champions from Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville in the CI title game. The Hawks defeated the Blazing Cats 5-4 to claim their first CI championship. 

Sophomore infielder Myles Johnson, junior catcher Henry Eisele and senior catcher Jeffrey Rosga each had two hits for Dakota United. Junior outfielder Makai Smith accounted for the Hawks’ lone RBI. 

Senior infielder Riley Deutsch had four hits in four at-bats for Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville. He also scored one run and added one RBI.

Third Place Game

New Prague 13, Osseo 10

The New Prague Trojans took home the third-place trophy after defeating Osseo 13-10. Junior infielder Tryston Seger scored four runs for New Prague. 

Senior pitcher Alec Singh and senior catcher Saniya Green notched two runs apiece for Osseo.

Consolation Final

St. Cloud Area 8, South Washington County 6

St. Cloud Area defeated South Washington County 8-6 in the consolation final. Seventh-grade infielder Isaiah Kuschel and senior infielder Logan Anderson each had two runs for the Crush.

South Washington County put up four runs in the fifth inning, including one from junior Logan Yannarelly, but it wasn’t enough to dismantle the Crush. Yannarelly finished the game with a team-high two runs. 

PI Division


Dakota United 5, Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka 4

For a second consecutive year, Dakota United defeated Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka in the title game. The Hawks won 13-6 last year and 5-4 this year. This was also the third consecutive championship for Dakota United.

Junior pitcher Cayden Needham and junior outfielder Reece Martin accounted for Dakota United’s two RBI. Martin also notched a double for the Hawks. Senior pitcher Jayda Johnson led Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka with four hits and three runs scored. 

In addition to the past three years, the Hawks also won in 2006, 2008, 2016 and 2020. 

Third Place 

Rochester 11, Minneapolis South 3

Rochester earned third-place honors after defeating the Minneapolis South Tigers 11-3. 

Seventh-grade outfielder Sawyer Hanson and junior outfielder Braxton Small scored three and two runs, respectively, for the Raiders. Sophomore outfielder Jorge Rosas-Bravo, senior pitcher Nick Staloch and senior outfielder Eric Sawyer scored one run apiece for Minneapolis South.

Consolation Final

Osseo 13, St. Paul Humboldt 2

The Osseo Orioles met the St. Paul Humboldt Hawks in the consolation final, with the Orioles coming away with a 13-2 victory. Osseo scored five runs in the third inning and pitcher Evan Bartlett finished the game with three runs.  

For complete brackets, please visit the respective activity pages: or   

Next Article

2024 Adapted Softball State All-Tournament Teams