Skip to main content


Boys Basketball State Tournament 2024: Class AA semifinals

Posted: Friday, March 22, 2024 - 10:21 PM

2024 Boys Basketball NEWS Logo

Top-seeded Breck made it a three-game sweep of No. 5 Minnehaha Academy during the 2023-2024 school year, its latest victory a 70-45 victory at the Minnesota State High School League’s Boys Basketball State Tournament on Friday, March 22 at Williams Arena on the University of Minnesota campus.

Senior guards Hanif Muhammad and Daniel Freitag led the way with 13 points each for the Mustangs (30-1), who advance to a state championship game for the first time since finishing as the Class AA runner-up in 2006. That season, Breck lost to Braham, which completed a three-peat of Class AA crowns.

Breck built a modest seven-point lead at the half but then bolted in the final 18 minutes, outscoring the Redhawks (15-15), 42-24.

During the regular season, Breck recorded two victories over Minnehaha Academy during the Independent Metro Athletic Conference schedule.

Last season, Minnehaha Academy toppled top-seeded Holy Family Catholic in the semifinals before eventually losing to Albany in the championship game. The Redhawks couldn’t duplicate that feat, and instead, struggled to make baskets in the first half against Breck’s pressure defense.

Junior forward George Norsman had 15 points for Minnehaha Academy.

Joining Breck in the championship game is No. 3 seed Lake City.

The Tigers dethroned defending Class AA champion, No. 2 Albany, 69-59 in the second semifinal. Senior guard Hunter Lorenson scored 22 points and grabbed 14 rebounds to power Lake City (26-5) into a championship game for the first time since winning the Class A crown in 1990. The Tigers also won back-to-back Class A championships in 1978 and 1979, respectively.

Senior guard Jaden Shones added 17 points for the Tigers.

With the loss, Albany (29-3) had its 23-game winning streak snapped. Junior guard Zeke Austin scored 16 points, including the 1,000th of his career on a late free throw. Senior guard Jack Rieland also had 16 points.

Next Article

2024 Triple 'A' Award Winners Announced