Skip to main content


Boys Tennis State Tournament: Individual Recap

Posted: Friday, June 10, 2022 - 9:50 PM

News Graphic Tennis 2022

Individual championships in singles and doubles play were decided on Friday, June 10, 2022 on the final day of the Minnesota State High School League’s Boys Tennis State Tournament at two South Minneapolis locations.

Class A

Mounds Park Academy junior Evan Fraser, the No. 2 seed in the Class A field, closed out his season with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over Osakis junior Isaac Maddock to win the individual championship. Fraser, who placed third in 2021, earned a berth in the championship match with a 6-2, 6-7, (7-4), 6-1 victory over senior Tate Reichmann of Minnewaska Area at the Read-Sweatt Family Tennis Center.

In the final, Fraser trailed 3-2 in the first set before rattling off four consecutive victories to secure the first set. That momentum carried into the second set as Fraser cruised to the title in the match that lasted just more than an hour.

Fraser is the third player from the St. Paul-based school to win a Class A individual singles championship. The most recent was Parker Law in 2019 and Bryan Kelly was the first in 2007.

In doubles play, top-seeded Dylan Hahn and Jack Onka of Thief River Falls went three long sets before defeating Ethan Leeser and Frederick Suhler of Rochester Lourdes 7-6 (7-4), 5-7 (5-7), 6-3 to claim the championship.

Class AA

Edina junior Matthew Fullerton, another No. 2 seed, came out on top in the Class AA singles competition, but it was a challenging task. Fullerton defeated top-seeded Collin Beduhn of Wayzata 7-6, 6-7, 7-6 in a match that lasted nearly four hours at the Baseline Tennis Center on the University of Minnesota campus. Fullerton won the final tie-breaker, 7-3.

Fullerton earned a berth in the championship match with a 7-5, 6-1 victory over Eagan’s Allen Gong. Bedhun advanced with a 6-4, 6-1 victory over St. Paul Harding’s Ashton Adesoro. Gong would end up defeating Adesoro in the third-place match.

In the doubles competition, Orono’s Matias Maule and Sam Skanse combined for a 6-2, 4-6, 6-4 victory over Tej Bhagra and Spencer Busch of Rochester Mayo.


Next Article

2022 Track and Field State Meet Class A Finals