Skip to main content


Edina wins four events, earns fourth consecutive Class AA team title in boys swim and dive

Posted: Saturday, March 5, 2022 - 9:48 PM

In the Class AA team competition, Edina claimed its fourth consecutive title with 355 points. This was the 14th overall championship for the Hornets. In addition to the past four years, Edina also won 1965, 1967, 1968, 1984, 1986, 1987, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Eden Prairie was second this year with 200 points and Minnetonka placed third with 170 points.        

Edina won one individual event and all three relays on its way to the championship. Senior Kai Taft won the 200 individual medley (1:48.85) and also swam on the 200 medley and 200 freestyle relay teams. Taft was joined by seniors Patrick Horton and Michael Thurk and sophomore Rohan D’Souza Larson on the winning 200 medley team (1:31.91). Taft, D’Souza Larson, junior Nico Leibert and senior Max Dow comprised the 200 freestyle team (1:23.76).

Edina claimed its final points in the 400 freestyle relay, winning in 3:03.87. Thurk, Horton, Dow and senior Matthew Walker were the members of that squad.

Luke Logue, a junior from Eden Prairie, was the only individual to successfully defend his 2021 title. Logue earned his second consecutive championship in the 100 backstroke with a time of 48.09.

Duluth East junior Grant Wodny was the only competitor to win multiple titles this year. He won both the 200 freestyle (1:38.73) and 500 freestyle (4:29.19).          

No new records were set during this year’s Class AA meet.

Complete results can be viewed here

Next Article

John’s Journal: A Dream First Season For Girls Wrestling