Skip to main content


Nordic Skiing: Girls Sprint Relay Recap

Posted: Wednesday, February 15, 2023 - 5:28 PM

Duluth East Girls Nordic Skiing Relay Champs 2023

Duluth East's Greta Hendrickson, left, and teammate Liesl Cope-Schaeffer, combined to capture the Minnesota State High School League's Girls Nordic Skiing Sprint Relay championship on Wednesday, Feb. 15 at Giants Ridge.

Duluth East High School made it 2 for 2 since the re-introduction of the Sprint Relay Event at the Minnesota State High School League’s Girls Nordic Skiing State Meet at Giants Ridge. The Greyhounds’ duo of Liesl Cope-Schaeffer and Greta Hendrickson powered their way to the state championship on Wednesday, Feb. 15 after powering through the course at Giants Ridge.

They finished the finals in a time of 16 minutes, 1.87 seconds to record a nearly-18 second victory over St. Paul Academy’s Maren Overgaard and Helen Townley. Jocelyn McBride and Eloise Powell of Stillwater Area were third in 16:49.45.

In 2022, Cope-Schaeffer teamed with Rowan Bixler to win the first two-skier relay. From 1991-98, a three-skier relay event was held. Bixler is competing in the pursuit competition that takes place on Thursday, the day of the Alpine-Nordic three-day state skiing meet.

Cope-Schaeffer and Hendrickson set the tone for the finals by recording the fastest time in the qualifying heats that comprised 24 relay teams. They were first in the third heat in a time of 16:36.17. St. Paul Academy, also in the third heat, qualified in 17:02.16. The winner from each qualification round advances to the championship heat. In addition, the next five fastest times also advance.

Cope-Schaeffer skied the first and third legs of the relay while Hendrickson handled the second and final leg.  

The other qualifying teams for the championship heat were St. Paul Highland Park, Moorhead, Minneapolis Washburn, Forest Lake and Sartell-St. Cloud Cathedral.

Next Article

Nordic Skiing: Boys Sprint Relay Recap