Skip to main content


Softball, Class A Championship: Randolph makes history

Posted: Wednesday, June 16, 2021 - 3:29 PM

The Randolph softball team that just completed a championship journey also left its mark in the school archives. In defeating Browerville-Eagle Valley 11-1 in six innings to capture the Class A championship at Caswell Park in North Mankato, the Rockets (27-0) became the first activity in school history to win a Minnesota State High School League championship.

The top-seeded Rockets did so by outscoring the opposition 26-1 in three state tournament games. In the championship game, a nine-run fifth inning put the debut championship just a few outs away. Shortstop Carly Kimmes was 2 for 4 with three runs batted in for the Rockets while centerfield Meredith Taylor was 2 for 3 with two RBIs.  

Pitcher Morgyn Otte struck out 11 in six innings of work and gave up four hits.

Randolph, making its third consecutive appearance in the state tournament, advanced to the championship game with a 5-0 victory over Edgerton/SW MN Christian in the semifinals late Tuesday night.

Otte was dominant in the circle with 18 strikeouts and surrendering just one hit. She struck out the first seven batters she faced and 10 of the first 12. Catcher Megan Erickson and third baseman Carter Raymond had two hits apiece.

Pitcher/third baseman Marissa Callahan, right fielder Ana Myers and first baseman Madeline Irsfeld were all 1 for 3 in the championship game for Browerville-Eagle Valley (25-1).

Third place

Edgerton/SW Mn Christian, the Class A champion in 2019, returned two years later and finished with the third-place trophy following a 4-2 victory over Badger/Greenbush-Middle River. Pitcher/third baseman Addison Fleischman was 2 for 3 with two RBIs for the Flying Dutchmen (21-4). She also scattered three hits and struck out four from the pitching circle. Shortstop Morgan Pap also rapped out two hits.

Second baseman Erika Howell and catcher Jacey WojWojchowski had RBIs for the Gators (27-2).



Next Article

Class AA Softball Championship: LeSueur-Henderson captures first crown