Skip to main content


Debate State Tournament, 2023: Advance News Release

Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2023 - 1:32 PM

Debate 23-News

The Debate State Tournament, the Minnesota State High School League’s longest-running event, returns to the University of Minnesota campus in Minneapolis on January 13-14. The tournament was held virtually on in both 2021 and 2022.

Champions will be crowned in four categories on Saturday evening.

Here is a snapshot of the tournament:

  • Eric Li and Archan Sen of Eagan return to defend their title in Policy Debate. They claimed runner-up honors in 2021.
  • Three of last year’s Top 10 finishers, including defending champion Connor Brynteson of Robbinsdale Cooper, return in Congressional Debate.
  • Mahtomedi’s Sneha Sureshkumar and Eden Prairie’s Srijani Datta are the highest returning qualifiers in Lincoln-Douglas Debate. Both fell in the semifinals last year.
  • Defending champion Elizabeth Terveen returns to defend her Public Forum crown with new partner Sofia Perri. Terveen captured top honors with Skylar Wang in 2022.
  • Terveen and Perri were also recently named as semifinalists in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program at Blake. They are two of twelve seniors to receive that honor.

For complete information on the tournament, including a schedule and results, please visit

Next Article

MSHSL Trivia --- January 2023