Skip to main content


Moorhead leads Class AA speech field with four gold medals

Posted: Friday, April 22, 2022 - 8:40 PM

Moorhead claimed four gold medals at the Class AA Speech State Tournament held at Eastview High School on Friday, April 22. Eagan and Eastview followed with two gold medals apiece.  

The 2022 champions are: Emily Nyberg of Lakeville North in Creative Expression; Julia Scholwalter of Eagan in Discussion; Nate Krekeler and Morgan Oksendahl of Eastview in Duo Interpretation; Juju Xiaaj of Eagan in Extemporaneous Reading; Iesh Gujral of Eden Prairie in Extemporaneous Speaking; Andrina Rockstad of Moorhead in Great Speeches; Greta Homuth of Moorhead in Humorous Interpretation; Ingrid Rigg of Moorhead in Informative Speaking; Eva Kracht of St. Peter in Original Oratory; Wayne Southwell of Apple Valley in Serious Interpretation of Drama; Anika Drees of Moorhead in Serious Interpretation of Poetry; Cailin Mayotte of Eastview in Serious Interpretation of Prose; and William Laudon of Rochester Mayo in Storytelling.

None of the three returning champions were successful in striking gold again this year. Moorhead’s Harrison Timm, who won in Serious Interpretation of Drama in 2021, placed fourth in Serious Interpretation of Prose. Alice Hovendon of Eagan, who won in Dramatic Duo with Colin Roberts last year, placed fifth in the same category with Evelyn Gore.

Lydia Voss of Apple Valley was the final returning champion. She placed second in Original Oratory after winning in the same category in 2021.

Complete results are posted at

Next Article

Melrose Area claims three gold medals in Class A speech