Skip to main content


Three Class AA productions earn ‘starred performance’ ratings

Posted: Thursday, February 10, 2022 - 6:32 PM

After watching and then individually critiquing eight Class AA dramatic productions, a panel of judges rated three of them “starred performances” on Thursday, February 10. This was the 74th One Act Play State Festival and it was held at the O’Shaughnessy Auditorium in St. Paul.

The three Class AA productions that earned “starred” ratings were: Lakeville South for Overruled, Cambridge-Isanti for Aunt Leaf and Alexandria Area for Trousers. Other schools participating in the Class AA festival were Chanhassen, Eagan, Hill-Murray, Coon Rapids and Robbinsdale Armstrong.

Representing Section 1, Lakeville South’s “starred performance” of Overruled by George Bernard Shaw was directed by Cody Carlson and Maddie Market-Mateffy. This was Lakeville South’s third “starred” rating in three appearances. The Cougars earned their previous “stars” in 2007 and 2009.

Representing Section 7, Cambridge-Isanti’s “starred performance” of Aunt Leaf by Barbara Wiechmann was directed by Jared Faust and Aaron Knudsvig. This was the first “star” for the Bluejackets, who were making their eighth appearance.

Representing, Section 8, Alexandria Area’s “starred performance” of Trousers by Helen Jones was directed by Jessica Chipman. The Cardinals, who were making their 14th appearance, earned their seventh “star.” Their previous “starred performances” came in 1951, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.

The Minnesota State High School League State One Act Play Festival does not involve direct competition. Judges rate the plays according to specific criteria, including pace, blocking, costuming, and projection of the play’s meaning. Each production is limited to 10 minutes of stage preparation and 35 minutes of actual performance.

“Starred performance” ratings are determined by private balloting of the judges. One school from each of eight sections in each class gets to perform at the state level.

Next Article

2022 Triple "A" Award Finalists